3rd Generation

Scroll

Courage and altruism in difficult times

The artist, the poet and the businessman

Anton Mayer

academic painter

(* 1886 † 1967 Munich)

Karl Mayer

poet and merchant

(* 1889 † 1971 Munich)

Adalbert Mayer

businessman and strategist

(* 1894 † 1987 Munich)

After the First World War and the end of the German monarchy, Franz Borgias passes the company on to his three sons and thus to the third generation. As the oldest son, academy graduate Anton takes over the artistic direction, while his younger brothers Karl and Adalbert take care of the global business affairs. 1919 Mayer'sche becomes a workshop for free artists (example Karl Knappe) 1922/23 Purchase of the neighboring properties on the Seidlstraße 25/27. New building by the city architect Prof. Theodor Fischer, today's company headquarters. 1922-1936 Adalbert Mayer, the driving force behind the family business, lives and works in New York. In 1934 he marries Marianne Lacher (a librarian). From 1965 to 1985 she creates seven meticulously researched company and family chronicles (Munich Stadtmuseum).

1933 The Mayer brothers successfully remain untangled with affairs of the NSDAP. The international contracts ensure the survival of the company for the time being. 1939 Mayer/ Zettler union 1941 the production of Mayer/ Zettler grinds to a halt 1944 the staff decreases from an original 500 to less than 20 Employees.

"The apocalyptic silver birds kept coming from Italy, always flying across the Tegernsee: divinely beautiful."

K.M.

1944 Stiglmaierplatz: "From the roof we observed, in horror, the swirls of fire and smoke over a tortured city ... a vision like Nero´s." K.M. 1945 "The front building burned down to the ground floor, exposing the exhibition hall in ruins and the workshop building without a roof ... the entire cellar full of glass material was destroyed, along with the carpenter's workshop in the courtyard, and photographic workshop along with all the equipment and most importantly almost all boxes and sketches burned ... including business books, old correspondence, and all the advertising material and documents, not to mention the office
artworks and furnishings ... “
K.M.

1946 rapid post-war renovations / revitalization of the US market. 1948 - 1965 restoration of the medieval windows from Munich´s cathedral, which A.M. saved from the destruction during the war. Reconstructions and production of modern windows by Karl Knappe, Max Lacher and Sepp Frank, among others. Inventions of thermal protective glazing for lead glass restoration and the "positive setting technique" in the mosaic (canvas network). A.M. receives the “St. Gregorius Medal” from Pope Pius XII. and the award of his hometown "Munich Shines". 1961 the World Peace Church Hiroshima receives a monumental apse mosaic by Prof. Karl Knappe. Well-known artists find their “Workshop Home”, including F.X.W. Braunmiller, Hubert Distler, Sepp Frank, Prof. Josef Oberberger and H.G. from Stockhausen among others.

„The essential work (of Mayer) is achieving a unity between manual and artistic work, where teamwork and real friendship are the substances that guarantee a productive solidarity.“

Karl Knappe

3° Generation

Scroll

Mut und Altruismus in schwierigen Zeiten

Der Künstler, der Poet und der Geschäftsmann

Anton Mayer

Akademischer Maler

(* 1886 † 1967 München)

Karl Mayer

Poet und Kaufmann

(* 1889 † 1971 München)

Adalbert Mayer

Kaufmann und Stratege

(* 1894 † 1987 München)

Nach dem ersten Weltkrieg und dem Ende der Monarchie übergibt Franz Borgias die Firma an seine drei Söhne und damit an die dritte Generation. Der Akademieschüler Anton übernimmt als Ältester die künstlerische Leitung, indes sich seine jüngeren Brüder Karl und Adalbert um die weltweiten geschäftlichen Belange des Familien Imperiums kümmern. 1919 die Mayer´sche wird zur Werkstätte für freie Künstler (Karl Knappe) 1922/23 Erwerb der Nachbargrundstücke Seidlstr. 25/27 und Neubau des heutigen Firmensitzes durch Stadtbaumeister Prof. Theodor Fischer. 1922 - 1936 lebt und arbeitet Adalbert Mayer, die treibende Kraft des Familienunternehmens, in New York. 1934 Hochzeit mit Marianne Lacher. Die Bibliothekarin erstellt von 1965 - 1985 den heutigen „Hauschatz“, sieben akribisch recherchierte Firmen- und Familienchroniken (Münchner Stadtmuseum).

1933 die Mayer-Brüder halten sich von der NSDAP fern. Die Auslandsaufträge sichern vorerst das Überleben der Firma. 1939 Firmenvereinigung Mayer/ Zettler 1941 die Produktion von Mayer kommt zum Erliegen 1944 die Belegschaft ist von ursprünglich 500 auf weniger als 20 Mitarbeiter zusammengeschrumpft

„Die apokalyptischen Silbervögel hierfür flogen – von Italien kommend – gerade immer über dem Tegernsee, himmlisch schön, ein.“

K.M.

1944 Stiglmaierplatz: „Vom Dach des Hauses beobachteten wir, wie so oft mit Grausen, die Feuer- und Rauchschwaden über der gequälten Stadt… eine Nero´sche Vision.“ K.M. 1945 „Das Vorderhaus bis zum Erdgeschoss ausgebrannt, der Ausstellungssaal eine Trümmerstätte, der Werkstätten Bau ohne Dach… Zerstört der Glaskeller, die Hofunterkellerung, die Schreinerwerkstätten im Hof, photographische Werkstätte mit Apparaten und allem… Fast alle Kartons und Skizzen verbrannt… die meisten Geschäftsbücher, die alte Korrespondenz, alles Werbematerial und alle Unterlagen, dazu die ganze Büroeinrichtung…“ K.M.

1946 rasche Nachkriegssanierungen und Wiederbelebung des USA Marktes. 1948 - 1965 Restaurierung der mittelalterlichen Münchner Dom Fenster, die A.M. vor der Kriegszerstörung durch Ausbau rettete. Rekonstruktionen und Fertigung moderner Fenster, von u.a. Karl Knappe, Max Lacher und Sepp Frank. Erfindungen der Thermischen Schutzverglasung für Bleiglas- Restaurierung und die „positive Setztechnik“ im Mosaik (Stramin Netz). A.M. erhält den „St. Gregorius Orden“ von Pabst Pius XII. und die Auszeichnung seiner Heimatstadt „München leuchtet“. 1961 Weltfriedenskirche in Hiroshima erhält ein monumentales Apsis Mosaik von Prof. Karl Knappe. Namenhafte Künstler finden ihre „Werkstatt Heimat“ in der Franz Mayer´schen Hofkunstanstalt, darunter F.X.W. Braunmiller, Hubert Distler, Sepp Frank, Prof. Josef Oberberger, H.G. von Stockhausen.

„Dieses wesentliche Schaffen verlangt echte Freundschaft, so daß eben bei allem Schaffen in der Anstalt, ein glücklicher Kontakt die Solidarität einer handwerklichen Arbeit mit der künstlerischen garantiert.“

Karl Knappe