2nd Generation

Scroll

"I have always loved beauty for its own sake, never because I intended to own it!"

F.B.M.

Directors, two brothers

Joseph Leonhard Mayer

sculptor and artistic director

(* 1846 † 1898 Munich)

Franz Borgias Mayer

artist and councilor of commerce

(* 1848 † 1926 Munich)

1870 - 1880 the two brothers study sculpture and painting with Prof. Knabl and Prof. Schlotthauer at the "Academy of Fine Arts" inMunich. The early years of F.B.M. are characterized by study and educational trips throughout Europe and the participation in the day to day operations at the London office. J.L.M. leads the artistic direction of the company till his early death, while F.B.M. guides the "Königlich Mayer'sche Hofkunstanstalt" into its international golden age, setting up the new stained glass department (after Zettler) with 20 Anglo-Saxon stained glass painters (Pre-Raphaelites: Dixon, Daniel i.a.).

1881 J.L.M. creates the "Josef Knabel Tombstone" at the Old Southern Cemetery, in Munich 1882 "The golden ratio: the church book marries the church window" F.B.M. Marriage to Therese Pustet (Pustet publishing house, Regensburg founded in 1820 "Typographers of the Holy See") 1882 King Ludwig II. bestows the title "Royal Bavarian Court Art Institute" End of the 19th century worldwide customers of non-denominational sacred art: churches, cathedrals, synagogues and mosques in collaboration with the most renowned artists of the time: Professors Knabl, Schlotthauer, Feuerstein and the English "star artists" Dixon and Daniel

"I love flowers! Do you know why? Because they inspire the colors for my windows.”

F.B.M.

1888 F.B.M.is a nature lover and early supporter of naturopathy Dr. Kneipp, purchases a country estate in Starnberg as a neighbor to Franz von Lenbach. 1888 receives Knight's Cross “Royal Order of Isabella the Catholic” 1892 Pope Leo XIII. bestowed the titel “Institute of the Holy Pontifical Chair” 1896 Prince Regent Luitpold appoints F.B.M to the “Royal Council of Commerce” 1898 J.L.M. passes away "Never caring much for his health, married twice, with many children left behind" 1905 St. Peters Dom, Rome "The Holy Spirit Window" above the Bernini Altar, the only leaded glass present within in the entirety of the cathedral.

Franz Xaver Zettler

Son-in-law of Joseph Gabriel Mayer
married to Therese Mayer (1843-1905) Head of Franz Mayer of Munich stained glass until 1870

(* 1841 † 1916 in Munich)

1871 F.X. Zettler founds the "Institute for Church Stained Glass" in Briennerstr. 1873 King Ludwig II. awards the "Royal Bavarian Court Glass Painting" further awards "Michael Orden", "Franz-Joseph Orden" (Austria), "Order of the Crown" (Prussia) and the Star of Romania". After 1909 his Sons Prof. Franz and Oskar Zettler run the business. 1939 Franz Mayer of Munich takes over F.X. Zettler. Reunification of the two leading "Munich Style" houses and the archives Mayer/ Zettler at Stiglmaierplatz.

“Munich has achieved particular fame in the United States of America because of two things: its good beer and its glass paintings by the workshops of Franz Mayer and F.X. Zettler! "

Kardinal Michael von Faulhaber (1869-1952)

2° Generation

Scroll

„Ich habe das Schöne immer nur um seiner selbst, nie um des Besitzes desselben willen, geliebt!“

F.B.M.

Die Direktoren Brüder

Joseph Leonhard Mayer

Bildhauer und Artistischer Direktor

(* 1846 † 1898 München)

Franz Borgias Mayer

Künstler und Kommerzienrat

(* 1848 † 1926 München)

1870 - 1880 Studium der Brüder an der „Akademie der bildenden Künste“ in München, Bildhauerei und Malerei bei Prof. Knabl und Prof. Schlotthauer. Die jungen Jahre von F.B.M. sind geprägt von Studien- und Bildungsreisen in ganz Europa und der Mitarbeit in der Londoner Filiale. Während J.L.M. die künstlerische Leitung bis zu seinem frühen Tod obliegt, führt F.B.M. die „Königlich Mayer´sche Hofkunstanstalt“ zur internationalen Hochblüte und richtet die neue Glasmalereiabteilung (nach Zettler) mit 20 angelsächsischen Glasmalern (PreRaffeliten: Dixon, Daniel u.a.) ein.

1881 „Josef Knabel Grabmal“ auf dem Alten Südlichen Friedhof von J.L.M. erschaffen 1882 „Der goldene Schnitt: Das Kirchenbuch vermählt sich mit dem Kirchenfenster“ F.B.M. Hochzeit mit Therese Pustet (Pustet Verlag, Regensburg gegründet 1820 - „Typographen des Heiligen Stuhls“) 1882 König Ludwig II. verleiht den Titel „Königlich Bayerische Hofkunstanstalt“ dies leitet die Hochblüte der Firma Ende des 19. Jhd. ein. Weltweite Kundschaft überkonfessioneller sakraler Kunst: Kirchen, Kathedralen, Synagogen und Moscheen in Zusammenarbeit mit den renommiertesten Künstlern der Zeit: Akademieprofessoren Knabl, Schlotthauer, Feuerstein und den englischen „Stars“ Dixon und Daniel.

„Ich liebe die Blumen! Wissen Sie warum? Daher nehme ich mir die Farben für mein Fensterkolorit.“

F.B.M.

1888 F.B.M. erwirbt, als Naturliebhaber und früher Anhänger der Naturheilkunde von Dr. Kneipp, den Starnberger Landsitz als Nachbar zu Franz von Lenbach. 1888 Ritterkreuz „Königlicher Orden Isabella der Katholischen“ 1892 Papst Leo XIII. verleiht den Titel „Institut des Heiligen Päpstlichen Stuhls“ 1896 Prinzregent Luitpold ernennt F.B.M zum „Königlichen Kommerzienrat“ 1898 stirbt der ältere Bruder J.L.M. „Seine Gesundheit nie schonend, zweimal verheiratet, mit Hinterlassung vieler Kinder“. 1900 Gründung der Mosaikabteilung 1905 Basilika Sankt Peter im Vatikan, Rom „Heilig Geist Fenster“ über dem Bernini Altar, die einzige Bleiverglasung im Petersdom.

Franz Xaver Zettler

Schwiegersohn von Joseph Gabriel Mayer
verheiratet mit Therese Mayer (1843-1905) Leitung der Franz Mayer´schen Glasmalerei bis 1870

(* 1841 † 1916 in München)

F.X. Zettler gründet 1871 das „Institut für Kirchliche Glasmalerei“ in der Briennerstrasse. 1873 verleiht König Ludwig II. den Titel „Königliche Bayerische Hofglasmalerei“. Weitere Auszeichnungen folgen: „Michael Orden“, „Franz-Joseph Orden“ (Österreich), „Kronenorden“ (Preußen) und den „Stern von Rumänien“. Nach 1909 führen die Söhne Prof. Franz und Oskar Zettler die Geschäfte. 1939 die Franz Mayer´sche Hofkunstanstalt übernimmt F.X. Zettler. Wiedervereinigung der beiden führenden „Munich Style“ Häuser und der Archive Mayer/ Zettler am Stiglmaierplatz.

„Durch zwei Dinge ist München in den Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika besonders berühmt geworden: durch sein gutes Bier und durch seine Glasmalereien der Werkstätten Franz Mayer und F.X. Zettler!“

Kardinal Michael von Faulhaber (1869-1952)